Poem of the Day – Day 28

I’m sorry that I’ve been absent and not able to have posted the poem of the day lately. It’s been a combination of technical difficulties and personal issues that I won’t go into here. But I’m back again now and ready to pick up where I left off.
It feels good to be back and I’ve missed the daily search for a great poem.

A Birthday Poem

Just past dawn, the sun stands
with its heavy red head
in a black stanchion of trees,
waiting for someone to come
with his bucket
for the foamy white light,
and then a long day in the pasture.
I too spend my days grazing,
feasting on every green moment
till darkness calls,
and with the others
I walk away into the night,
swinging the little tin bell
of my name.

– Ted Kooser

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

