It’s reunion time…

The time has come. It’s been ten years since I got out of high school and this weekend we’re having a reunion.

I’m going to admit that I do have mixed feelings about this reunion. I wasn’t any kind of popular in school and was bullied a lot. I got to feel how cruel girls at that age can really be. A part of me wants to meet those girls and tell them that every mean word they ever threw me has made me into to strong person I am today, and yet there is another part of me that wants to run away screaming.

I do have a feeling that as they have now grown up they will act like the bullying never happened, but the ones that are bullied forgive but we never forget. If any of them would be big enough of a person and give me an apology I would gladly accept it, but I don’t expect any of them to give me that. I’m expecting a fake welcoming and the girlfriend act that pisses me off big time.

“Hiiii! How are you?? What have you been up to?? “

For over two years they made my life miserable and for some reason it should all just be well and forgotten. I’m not saying that I’m holding a grudge because that isn’t the kind of person I am, but there still is a part of me that hurts whenever I think back to those years.

Maybe I’m just afraid of feeling all of those things again. And even though I know that I’m a strong person I don’t really know how I will react to the situation. I usually avoid being stuck in places with people I don’t get along with. It’s not worth my energy or my time.

This time I’m making an exception and giving it a go. I’m so glad that Kathrine and I are still friends so that we can go to this thing together. And we have decided that if we feel uncomfortable and anyone of us wants to leave we will do so. Then she and I will go out and have a glorious time as we usually do!

It feels good to have a plan B.

IMG_20130721_145918

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “It’s reunion time…

  1. Shawn M. Buchholz

    I know how you feel about high school reunions. The first time I went, I thought I would be a *nobody* or looked poorly upon. My parents did a terrible job of raising their children and didn’t allow their children to have any friends. I attended class with many students that I never became close friends with. After attending the high school reunion and meeting many faces again, we realized we were only kids at that time and Life changes us in many ways. As adults, we are better people than as children. It’s better to forgive the past and judge classmates by their behavior in the present so I agree with you forgiving them. For my reunion, I only remember the regrets of not enjoying life to the maximum as a teenager. There is no way to make up for that. Only enjoy life to the maximum NOW. And don’t do anything you will regret later! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

