The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings – REVIEW

murder complexThe Murder Complex was sent to me by the author for an honest review. I was hoping to post a video review of this during the book tour, but the wifi on my trip was not sufficient to upload such a video. So here’s the written review a little late, but better late than never, right?

The Murder Complex is the first book in The Murder Complex series.

Published: June 10th, 2014

Publisher: HarperCollins

Pages: 416

***

Meadow Woodson is fifteen years old. She’s been trained by her father to fight, kill and survive in any situation. She lives with her family in a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex and has a higher death rate than birth rate.

Trying to survive and make an income for her family, Meadow meets Zephyr James who is – although he doesn’t know it yet – one of The Murder Complex’s trained assassins. Is their meeting a coincidenceor a terrifying strategy? And will she discover the haunting truth about here family?

***

The Writing

Lindsay has written a bloody and exciting start to a series. I really enjoyed her world building and was early on very engaged in this story. I liked how that she wasn’t afraid of making it too brutal or graphic. No sugarcoating!

The Characters

Meadow was such a strong female protagonist and I loved that. She had those tiny insecurities that would come natural to any teenager, but there wasn’t too much anxiety going on which felt very right according to the story and situation that she was in. She was strong, sassy and wise in so many ways. I did not agree with all of the choices that she made, but I did enjoy the journey we had together.

Zephyr, oh Zephyr! One could really feel his pain and his frustration. And while he was a character to fear I could not help but to fall a little in love with him.

The Plot

I think the plot and plot twists was what made this book so good! Some of those twists took me completely by surprise and had me at the edge of my seat.

The build up to the climax was written perfectly and THAT ENDING! Talk about a cliffhanger!

five-stars

I enjoyed this book from beginning to finish! It was exciting and different! There wasn’t one thing that I wish were different and I can’t wait for The Death Code to come out on May 26th. I’ve already placed my pre-order and the day can’t come fast enough!

Thank you so much to Lindsay Cummings for sending this amazing book my way and for captivating my with a fantastic story!

***

Would you like your own copy of The Murder Complex? Click on the Amazon or BookDepository logo below:

a.com_logo_RGB   The_book_depository_logo

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

