I Was Thinking About Soulmates

If you Google the word soulmate, this is the definition that pops up first:

“A person ideally suited to another as a close friend or romantic partner.”

On Wikipedia I also found this:

In his dialogue The Symposium, Plato has Aristophanes present a story about soulmates. Aristophanes states that humans originally had four arms, four legs, and a single head made of two faces. He continues that there were three genders: man, woman and the “Androgynous”. Each with two sets of genitalia with the Androgynous having both male and female genitalia. The men were children of the sun, the women were children of the earth and the Androgynous were children of the moon, which was born of the sun and earth. It is said that humans had great strength at the time and threatened to conquer the gods. The gods were then faced with the prospect of destroying the humans with lightning as they had done with the Titans but then they would lose the tributes given to the gods by humans. Zeus developed a creative solution by splitting humans in half as punishment for humanity’s pride and doubling the number of humans who would give tribute to the gods. These split humans were in utter misery to the point where they would not eat and would perish so Apollo had sewn them up and reconstituted their bodies with the navel being the only remnant harkening back to their original form. Each human would then only have one set of genitalia and would forever long for his/her other half; the other half of his/her soul. It is said that when the two find each other, there is an unspoken understanding of one another, that they feel unified and would lie with each other in unity and would know no greater joy than that

***

Two very interesting definitions of the term Soulmate.

I will share my own.

ezgif.com-video-to-gif


I believe that a soulmate is a person that you feel naturally drawn to. An instant connection that cannot be explained in any other words. Someone who dares to tell you the truth even if it hurts. 

A soulmate is someone who cries with you, laughs with you and goes the distance. Someone who is always there even when you might feel like you don’t deserve it. 

They are the light that forces itself through the darkest of times and help you find your way. 

When i was younger I always thought about “The One” when I heard about the word soulmate, but now I see my closest friends as my soulmates. 

Relationships come and they go, but the friends that stay by me are the mates that matches my soul.

To me soulmates are more about friendships than lovers!

You guys are the ones that I love no matter what. The ones that I will always forgive. The ones I can never imagine my life without and I’m so incredibly grateful for having found you guys!

I know that I can always come to you with my joys and my sorrows and I love that you guys can do the same.  

I probably don’t tell you guys how much I love you as much as I should but I’m hoping that you know just how a big part of my life you are! You guys are my everything through thick and thin!

You guys are the best soulmates a gingerkid like me could ever have!

You guys know who you are!

*hugs and kisses*

  

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

