One Day in December by Josie Silver 📚 BOOK REVIEW

I listen to an audiobook version of One Day in December on Audible. 

Josie Silver

Genre: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary

Publisher: Random House Audio (audiobook)

Originally published: October 16th, 2018

Pages: 416 (paperback)

Audiobook length: 10 Hours 27 Minutes

Blurb by the publisher:

Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn’t exist. After all, life isn’t a scene from the movies, is it? But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy winter’s day, she sees a man she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there’s a moment of pure magic…and then her bus drives away. 

Laurie thinks she’ll never see the boy from the bus again. But at a party a year later, her best friend Sarah introduces her to the new love of her life. Who is, of course, the boy from the bus.

Determined to let him go, Laurie gets on with her life. But what if fate has other plans?

Following Laurie, Sarah and Jack through ten years of love, heartbreak, and friendship, One Day in December is an uplifting, heart-warming and immensely moving love story that you’ll want to escape into forever, for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond, and Nicholas Sparks.

My Thoughts:

Right before Christmas 2018, I felt like I saw the cover of this book everywhere! I don’t know what it is about that, but sometimes it just completely puts me off wanting to read it. It was kind of like that with One Day in December as well. I didn’t feel drawn to it, I was so sure it was just some cheesy romance with a whole lot of too much Christmas crammed into it.

I judged the book by its cover (come on, all of us book lovers do from time to time), and I was wrong.

I found myself searching for my lacking Christmas spirit and decided that I was going to use my Audible credit on a Christmassy audiobook, but I didn’t want to go for one of the classics. Suddenly this book popped up again, and I took the time to read some of the non-spoiler reviews, and I was convinced to give it a go.

Where I thought I would we overwhelmed by an overly cheesy back and forth love story, I got so much more. This is a story about friendship, as much as it is about love. I loved hearing about Laurie and Sarah’s friendship, as I could relate to a lot of the struggle and the wonders of having such a strong friendship with someone.

The characters developed a lot through the story as well, and it was nice to see a set of characters that were actually quite relatable. They had the ups and downs of normal life.

And I got to say, Josie Silver sure added some funny and somewhat cringey scenes that had me giggling.

Yes, it is a romance novel! Yes, it has Christmas in it, but a lot less than I expected!

I was prepared to not like this book, and I did not go in with high expectations, but I ended up really enjoying this one! I was immersed in the story of Laurie and Jack, told by both perspectives. I found it to be an addictive read (or listen on my part) and one that I just flew through.

The only thing that took it down from a top-rated review for me was that everything kind of resolved whirlwind quick at the end.

But still, this is a story that has stuck with me more so than any other love story I’ve read in a while. Highly recommend if you’re looking for something light, fun and romantic!

Click on the Bookdepository link below to get your own copy, and let me know what you think of the book!

💛If you buy via my affiliates links, I get a small commission💛

The Woman Who Stole My Life by Marian Keyes- REVIEW

24874019I read this book in a paperback edition that I got as a present.

Published: May 21st 2015

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd.

Pages: 560 (paperback)

Audiobook length: 15 hrs and 1 min

 

 

 

 

graphic1_738x90

Synopsis by the publisher:

‘Name: Stella Sweeney. Height: average. Recent life events: dramatic.’

One day, sitting in traffic, married Dublin mum Stella Sweeney attempts a good deed. The resulting car crash changes her life. For she meets a man who wants her telephone number (for the insurance, it turns out). That’s okay. She doesn’t really like him much anyway (his Range Rover totally banjaxed her car). But in this meeting is born the seed of something which will take Stella thousands of miles from her old life, turning an ordinary woman into a superstar, and, along the way, wrenching her whole family apart. Is this all because of one ill-advised act of goodwill? Was meeting Mr Range Rover destiny or karma? Should she be grateful or hopping mad? For the first time real, honest-to-goodness happiness is just within her reach. But is Stella Sweeney, Dublin housewife, ready to grasp it?

Marian Keyes
Marian Keyes

***

The Writing 

I remember reading her book This Charming Man a long time ago and really enjoying her writing, but I was worried that my taste in literature had changed too much for it to still be a part of my favorite cups of tea. Turned out I was worried for no reason.

Marian Keyes’ writing is so easy going and witty even when they touch on darker and more serious subjects. The dialogue of the characters is done so well and this book had me laughing out loud as well as drying my tears.

The Characters

Oh Stella, my dear Stella! A character that definitely found her way into a special place in my reading heart!

We had our moments where I was pulling my hair out of frustration caused by her choices and reaction, but all in all I just loved her as a character.

I won’t go too much more into the characters because it could possibly spoil you a bit, but this book definitely has a good assembly of original and lovely characters! Some will warm your heart, others will have you laughing and then there are the few that will make you mad!

The Plot

I went into this book very much blind. I didn’t really want to know much more than what the synopsis told me and I’m glad that I did.

This turned out to be a very different story than what I thought it would be, in a very positive way!

It took some twists and turns that I really did not see coming and then there were a few that I had a hunch about but I still felt was the right choices for the direction of the story.

This story captured me from the very first page and had me to the very end, something that rarely happens when it comes to me and “chick lit”.

An amazing story with all the right elements of an interesting summer read!

My Thoughts

This is a book that I would have probably never bought for my self, but I’m so glad that it found its way into my hands because I really enjoyed it!

It was a surprise gift wrapped in another surprise!

A perfect summer read!

4star

Would you like your own copy of the book? Click on the Amazon or BookDepository logo below:

IMG_0047

The_book_depository_logo

***

You Had Me At Hello by Mhairi McFarlane (review)

15733851

What happens when the one that got away comes back? Find out in this sparkling debut from Mhairi McFarlane.

‘Think of the great duos of history. We’re just like them.’
‘You mean like Kylie and Jason? Torvill and Dean? Sonny and Cher?’
‘I think you’ve missed the point, Rachel.’

Rachel and Ben. Ben and Rachel. It was them against the world. Until it all fell apart. It’s been a decade since they last spoke, but when Rachel bumps into Ben one rainy day, the years melt away.

They’d been partners in crime and the best of friends. But life has moved on: Ben is married. Rachel is not. Yet in that split second, Rachel feels the old friendship return. And along with it, the broken heart she’s never been able to mend.

***

Even though I do prefer Horror and Science Fiction when reading I do enjoy a good chick lit from time to time.

You Had Me At Hello had the good potential of being a heartwarming and witty story of “what ifs”. That’s the beauty of a lot of these kind of stories is that through the books we get to participate in a world where the things that we regret or the one that got away actually comes back. It doesn’t happen all too often in real life.

This book was witty and an easy read but it didn’t hit a home run for me. A lot of it felt too predictable even though it was entertaining enough. I could relate to the character Rachel and liked the sassiness of a lot of the conversations, but all in all it just wasn’t my cup of tea I’m afraid.

3-stars-out-of-5I give it three stars. An easy, witty and charming summer read.

One of my favorite quotes from You Had Me At Hello:

“Isn’t it weird how we make big decisions in life based on the strangest, most random things?”

***

If you would like your own copy of You Had Me At Hello, you can CLICK HERE or on the cover picture in the start of my review.