One Day in December by Josie Silver 📚 BOOK REVIEW

I listen to an audiobook version of One Day in December on Audible. 

Josie Silver

Genre: Fiction, Romance, Contemporary

Publisher: Random House Audio (audiobook)

Originally published: October 16th, 2018

Pages: 416 (paperback)

Audiobook length: 10 Hours 27 Minutes

Blurb by the publisher:

Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn’t exist. After all, life isn’t a scene from the movies, is it? But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy winter’s day, she sees a man she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there’s a moment of pure magic…and then her bus drives away. 

Laurie thinks she’ll never see the boy from the bus again. But at a party a year later, her best friend Sarah introduces her to the new love of her life. Who is, of course, the boy from the bus.

Determined to let him go, Laurie gets on with her life. But what if fate has other plans?

Following Laurie, Sarah and Jack through ten years of love, heartbreak, and friendship, One Day in December is an uplifting, heart-warming and immensely moving love story that you’ll want to escape into forever, for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond, and Nicholas Sparks.

My Thoughts:

Right before Christmas 2018, I felt like I saw the cover of this book everywhere! I don’t know what it is about that, but sometimes it just completely puts me off wanting to read it. It was kind of like that with One Day in December as well. I didn’t feel drawn to it, I was so sure it was just some cheesy romance with a whole lot of too much Christmas crammed into it.

I judged the book by its cover (come on, all of us book lovers do from time to time), and I was wrong.

I found myself searching for my lacking Christmas spirit and decided that I was going to use my Audible credit on a Christmassy audiobook, but I didn’t want to go for one of the classics. Suddenly this book popped up again, and I took the time to read some of the non-spoiler reviews, and I was convinced to give it a go.

Where I thought I would we overwhelmed by an overly cheesy back and forth love story, I got so much more. This is a story about friendship, as much as it is about love. I loved hearing about Laurie and Sarah’s friendship, as I could relate to a lot of the struggle and the wonders of having such a strong friendship with someone.

The characters developed a lot through the story as well, and it was nice to see a set of characters that were actually quite relatable. They had the ups and downs of normal life.

And I got to say, Josie Silver sure added some funny and somewhat cringey scenes that had me giggling.

Yes, it is a romance novel! Yes, it has Christmas in it, but a lot less than I expected!

I was prepared to not like this book, and I did not go in with high expectations, but I ended up really enjoying this one! I was immersed in the story of Laurie and Jack, told by both perspectives. I found it to be an addictive read (or listen on my part) and one that I just flew through.

The only thing that took it down from a top-rated review for me was that everything kind of resolved whirlwind quick at the end.

But still, this is a story that has stuck with me more so than any other love story I’ve read in a while. Highly recommend if you’re looking for something light, fun and romantic!

Click on the Bookdepository link below to get your own copy, and let me know what you think of the book!

💛If you buy via my affiliates links, I get a small commission💛

Another Day by David Levithan – REVIEW

9780385756204Another Day was sent to me by Random House via NetGalley to read and give an honest review. Thank you guys!

I read this on my Kindle.

Another Day is the companion novel to Every Day. CLICK HERE to read my review of the first book.

Published: August 25th, 2015 (July 30th, 2015 in the UK)

Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books For Young Readers

Pages: 336 (hardback)

Audiobook length: 9 hrs and 27 min

graphic1_738x90

Synopsis by the publisher:

In this enthralling companion to his New York Times bestseller Every Day, David Levithan (co-author  of Will Grayson, Will Grayson with John Green) tells Rhiannon’s side of the story as she seeks to discover the truth about love and how it can change you.

Every day is the same for Rhiannon. She has accepted her life, convinced herself that she deserves her distant, temperamental boyfriend, Justin, even established guidelines by which to live: Don’t be too needy. Avoid upsetting him. Never get your hopes up.

Until the morning everything changes. Justin seems to see her, to want to be with her for the first time, and they share a perfect day—a perfect day Justin doesn’t remember the next morning. Confused, depressed, and desperate for another day as great as that one, Rhiannon starts questioning everything. Then, one day, a stranger tells her that the Justin she spent that day with, the one who made her feel like a real person . . . wasn’t Justin at all.

levithan
David Levithan

The Review

“It was nice to get to know Rhiannon as a character more, but this novel didn’t add as much to the story as I was hoping for.”

***

The Writing 

I did enjoy Levithan’s writing very much in Another Day, but not as much as Every Day. That might be that I liked A’s voice more than Rhiannon.

He has ways of explaining feelings and situations that makes it so easy to connect with them and feel like you’re actually a part of it all.

I also really enjoyed the dialogues.

The Characters

It was interesting to get to know Rhiannon more in-depth than in the last book and we also got to see A and all of his faces from a different perspective which I enjoyed.

We were also introduced to some of Rhiannon’s friends as well and her family.

Justin as a character irritated me with his mood swings and very often lack of sympathy. But there was also another side to Justin that showed a more emotional depth to his character that we didn’t see in Every Day, and that was something I really appreciated.

The Plot

The thing about reading a companion novel that tells the same story as the first novel, but from a different perspective is that it doesn’t have the same grab effect on me. I didn’t feel as invested in the story and lost my concentration at times mostly because I knew where the story was going.

There were few surprises when it came to the plot line but I really did enjoy following Rhiannon through the same timeline as I followed A a little while back.

Additional Thoughts

Can you read Another Day as a stand alone? Yes, I think you could without a problem, but I also think that you wouldn’t fall for A and Rhiannon’s relationship as hard as I did when I read it from A’s perspective.

It was nice to get to know Rhiannon as a character more, but this novel didn’t add as much to the story as I was hoping for.

That being said I really do hope that Levithan writes another novel about A and Rhiannon where we find out what happens after the ending of these two. There’s a story there that I’m hoping will be told soon.

3-stars-out-of-5

Do you want your own copy of Another Day? Click on the Amazon or BookDepository logo below:

IMG_0047

The_book_depository_logo